Pages

Tuesday, 15 November 2016

Permissioning the New Google Sites

New Google Sites

Got a shock this morning when I saw my new Google Site which I had permissioned to "Anyone with the link" can "View", suddenly present on the Web as "Anyone with the link" can "Edit"..

Unlike the old sites, you may or may not have noticed that you no longer can set the option "Anyone with the link can view"

I assumed it was a bug and even sent feedback to Google.

I have since realised that this may be how it is meant to be.

The "Publish" option gives you the ability to make the site visible to the world and searchable, or visible only to people with the link.


I love the concept. It lets me edit a site in the background and the viewers will continue to see the published version until I choose to "Publish".... Very cool.